Ownership structure and AGM

Ownership structure

As of 31 December 2019 Sandvik’s share capital amounted to 1,505,263,107.60 SEK represented by 1,254,385,923 shares. According to the share register, Sandvik had about 101,000 shareholders as of 31 December 2019. AB Industrivärden was the largest owner with about 12.4 percent of the share capital. Of the total share capital at year-end, about 38.9 percent was owned by investors outside Sweden.

Shareholders’ meeting

The General Meeting of Shareholders is the highest decision-making body. At the Annual General Meeting, the shareholders are given the possibility to exercise their voting rights in relation to, for example, the Annual Report, dividends, election of the Board and appointment of auditor, and other matters stipulated in the Companies Act, the Articles of Association and, where applicable, the Code.

All shareholders who have been entered in the share register and have informed the company of their attendance within the time limit stated in the notice of the General Meeting are entitled to participate at Sandvik’s General Meetings and vote according to the number of shares held. Shareholders are also entitled to be represented by a proxy at the General Meeting.

All shares in Sandvik carry equal voting rights with one vote per share.

2019 Annual General Meeting

Stage at Annual General Meeting 2019 at the Göransson Arena, Sandviken, Sweden. (photo)

Sandvik’s Annual General Meeting 2019 was held at the Göransson Arena, Sandviken, Sweden.

Shareholders representing 53.40 percent of the share capital and votes attended the Annual General Meeting held on 29 April 2019 in Sandviken, Sweden. Sven Unger, attorney-at-law, was elected to chair the meeting. Resolutions passed at the General Meeting included the following:

  • Dividend of 4.25 SEK per share
  • Re-election of Board members Jennifer Allerton, Claes Boustedt, Marika Fredriksson, Johan Karlström, Johan Molin, Björn Rosengren, Helena Stjernholm and Lars Westerberg. Re-election of Johan Molin as Chairman of the Board.
  • Re-election of PricewaterhouseCoopers AB as auditor
  • Guidelines for remuneration of senior executives
  • A long-term incentive program in the form of a performance share program for about 350 senior executives and key employees in the Group
Ten largest shareholders

31 December 2019, %


Source: Monitor by Modular Finance AB


Shares held in trust.

AB Industrivärden


Alecta Pension Insurance


Swedbank Robur Funds




AMF Insurance and Funds




L E Lundbergföretagen AB


SEB Investment Management


Norges Bank


Nordea Funds


For additional information about the Annual General Meeting, including the minutes, refer to: home.sandvik.

2020 Annual General Meeting

The next Annual General Meeting will be held on 28 April 2020 in Sandviken, Sweden. More information is available at: home.sandvik.