Sandvik logo

Ownership structure and AGM

Ownership structure

As of December 31, 2023, Sandvik’s share capital amounted to SEK 1,505,263,107.60 represented by 1,254,385,923 shares. At year-end, Sandvik had about 138,000 shareholders and AB Industrivärden was the largest owner with about 14.1 percent of the share capital. Of the total share capital at year-end, about 40 percent was owned by investors outside Sweden.

Ten largest shareholders

December 31, 2023, %


AB Industrivärden


Alecta Pension Insurance


Swedbank Robur Funds




Lundbergföretagen AB




Handelsbanken Funds


SEB Funds


Norges Bank


Fidelity International (FIL)


Source: Monitor by Modular Finance AB

Shareholders’ meeting

The General Meeting of Shareholders is the highest decision-making body. At the Annual General Meeting, the shareholders are given the possibility to exercise their voting rights in relation to, for example, the Annual Report, dividends, election of the Board and appointment of auditor, and other matters stipulated in the Companies Act, the Articles of Association and, where applicable, the Code.

All shareholders who have been entered in the share register and have informed the company of their participation within the time limit stated in the notice of the General Meeting are entitled to participate at the General Meeting and vote according to the number of shares held. Shareholders are also entitled to be represented by a proxy at a General Meeting. According to the Articles of Association, the Board may also decide to allow shareholders to exercise their voting rights through postal voting before the General Meeting.

All shares in Sandvik carry equal voting rights with one vote per share.

2023 Annual General Meeting

Annual General Meeting of Sandvik AB 2023 (photo)
The 2023 Annual General Meeting was held at the Göransson Arena in Sandviken, Sweden.

Shareholders representing 60.1 percent of the share capital and votes participated at the Annual General Meeting held on April 27, 2023. Resolutions included the following:

  • Dividend of SEK 5.00 per share
  • Re-election of Board members Jennifer Allerton, Claes Boustedt, Marika Fredriksson, Johan Molin, Andreas Nordbrandt, Helena Stjernholm, Stefan Widing and Kai Wärn as well as re-election of Johan Molin as Chairman of the Board
  • Re-election of Pricewaterhouse­­Coopers AB as auditor
  • Approval of the Board’s remuneration report
  • Adoption of a long-term incentive program in the form of a performance share program for about 350 senior executives and key employees in the Group
  • Authorization for the Board to decide on acquisition of the company’s own shares up to a maximum of 10 percent of all the shares in the company

For additional information about the Annual General Meeting, including the minutes, visit:

2024 Annual General Meeting

The next Annual General Meeting will be held in Sandviken, Sweden, on April 29, 2024. More information can be found in the notice convening the General Meeting and at: