Ownership structure and AGM

Ownership structure

As of December 31, 2020 Sandvik’s share capital amounted to SEK 1,505,263,107.60 represented by 1,254,385,923 shares. According to the share register, Sandvik had about 106,000 shareholders as of December 31, 2020 and AB Industrivärden was the largest owner with about 12.5 percent of the share capital. Of the total share capital at year-end, about 43 percent was owned by investors outside Sweden.

Shareholders’ meeting

The General Meeting of Shareholders is the highest decision-making body. At the Annual General Meeting, the shareholders are given the possibility to exercise their voting rights in relation to, for example, the Annual Report, dividends, election of the Board and appointment of auditor, and other matters stipulated in the Companies Act, the Articles of Association and, where applicable, the Code.

All shareholders who have been entered in the share register and have informed the company of their attendance within the time limit stated in the notice of the General Meeting are entitled to participate at Sandvik’s General Meetings and vote according to the number of shares held. Shareholders are also entitled to be represented by a proxy at the General Meeting.

All shares in Sandvik carry equal voting rights with one vote per share.

2020 Annual General Meeting

Sandvik’s Annual General Meeting 2020 at the Göransson Arena in Sandviken, Sweden. (photo)

Sandvik’s Annual General Meeting at the Göransson Arena in Sandviken, Sweden. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, only nine shareholders and representatives participated in person.

Shareholders representing 56.2 percent of the share capital and votes attended the Annual General Meeting held on April 28, 2020 in Sandviken, Sweden. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, shareholders participated mainly through proxy or advance voting. Sven Unger, attorney-at-law, was elected to chair the meeting. Resolutions passed at the General Meeting included the following:

  • No dividend
  • Re-election of Board members Jennifer Allerton, Claes Boustedt, Marika Fredriksson, Johan Karlström, Johan Molin and Helena Stjernholm. Election of Stefan Widing and Kai Wärn as new Board members. Re-election of Johan Molin as Chairman of the Board.
  • Re-election of PricewaterhouseCoopers AB as auditor
  • Revised instruction for the Nomination Committee
  • Guidelines for the remuneration of senior executives
  • A long-term incentive program in the form of a performance share program for about 350 senior executives and key employees in the Group
  • Authorization for the Board to decide on acquisition of the company’s own shares

For additional information about the Annual General Meeting, including the minutes, refer to: home.sandvik.

Ten largest shareholders

December 31, 2020, %


Source: Monitor by Modular Finance AB

AB Industrivärden


Alecta Pension Insurance


Swedbank Robur Funds






Lundbergföretagen AB


AMF Pension and Funds


SEB Funds


Norges Bank


Handelsbanken Funds


2021 Annual General Meeting

The next Annual General Meeting will be held on April 27, 2021. More information is available at: home.sandvik.